Easy Peasy Blender Garlic Hummus

I’m a big fan of hummus. You can customize the flavour, and serve it with anything from veggies to chips, or even as a sandwich spread. Plus it has protein and fibre.

Evidently, to my dismay, hummus is not overly popular in Latin America. The latinos have a lot of delicious salsas, but hummus doesn’t seem to make the most popular list. Even when I happen to find it in grocery stores, it tends to be over priced. So I decided to try making my own.

Cooking up dried chickpeas is easy and cheap; it just requires some time. To prep for this recipe, I pre-cooked my chickpeas and oven roasted my garlic.

Blender Garlic Hummus

2 cups cooked chickpeas

1 tbsp extra virgin olive oil

1/2 lemon, juiced (about 3 tbsp)

1-2 heads roasted garlic

1/4 tsp chili powder

1/2 tsp salt

3-6 tbsp water

2 tbsp tahini (optional)

Note: You can use a 15oz can of chickpeas in place of the home cooked ones. For the garlic, I use 2 heads since I love garlic. The tahini is optional. It’s not easy to find where I live, and kind of expensive, so I omitted it.

Add the chickpeas, olive oil, lemon juice, garlic, chili powder, salt, and 3 tablespoons of water to a food processor. Blend until smooth, adding additional water to thin out the hummus just enough to fully purée.

Refrigerate in an airtight container for up to a week.

Leave a comment